It's Awards Season: The YA Book Awards Round Up

Marcus Sedgwick won the 2014 Michael L. Printz Award for Midwinterblood. Four honor books were selected: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell; Kingdom of Little Wounds by Susann Cokal; Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner; and Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool (tween fiction, also available on audio).

Markus Zusak (The Book Thief) was awarded the 2014 Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime contribution in writing for young adults.

Three Coretta Scott King honor books were announced, including one YA BOOK: Darius & Twig by Walter Dean Myers.

Charm & Strange by Stephanie Kuehn won the William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens. Here are the four remaining finalists: Sex & Violence by Carrie Mesrobian; Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets by Evan Roskos; Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross (on order); and In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters.

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein won the teen category of the The Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience.

Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirstin Cronn-Mills and Fat Angie by e.E. Charlton-Trujillo (replacement ordered) both won the Stonewall Book Award for exceptional merit relating to the gay/lesbian/bisexual/transgender experience. There were also three honor books, including two for teens: Branded by the Pink Triangle by Ken Setterington (nonfiction); and Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan (Knopf).

Other awards included the Pura Belpré Author Award, which went to Meg Medina's book Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass. Three honor books were selected, including YA title The Living by Matt de la Peña.

Last modified on Monday, 27 January 2014 15:35

Library Information



Visit us
222 E. Eleven Mile
Royal Oak, MI 48067


Monday 10:00 - 9:00
Tuesday 12:00 - 9:00
Wednesday 10:00 - 9:00
Thursday 12:00 - 9:00
Friday 10:00 - 6:00
Saturday 10:00 - 6:00

Upcoming Events

View All Events
Close Panel

Member Login